BANGSAMORO, Philippines — Forty-nine (49) schools across the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao benefit from the Ministry of Science and Technology’s deployment of STARBOOKS, a digital computer library.

From May to June 2022, MOST awarded eight ( STARBOOKS in Cotabato City, seven (7) each in Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, North Cotabato – Special Geographic Area, Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi to benefit from the said S & T education intervention.

In a statement, MOST Minister Aida Silongan was glad that the ministry deploys STARBOOKS across the region, improving students’ learning environment and educational competence in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) courses.

“MOST will continue its goal to improve and strengthen the knowledge and skills of our human capital in the region specifically students and teachers. We have deployed STARBOOKS in STEM schools in the region for educational competence and improvement.” Minister Silongan said.

These are the schools that received STARBOOKS:

  1. Madrasah Rasheedah High School
  2. Canizares National High School
  3. Shariff Kabunsuan College Inc.
  4. Al-Azharie Academy Center Inc.
  5. Cotabato State University- Laboratory High School
  6. Dr. P Ocampo College Inc.
  7. Notre Dame Village National High School
  8. Gani L. Abpi College, Inc.
  9. Sultan Kudarat National H
  10. Datu Paglas NHS
  11. Armm Regional Science HS
  12. Msu-Maguindanao SHS
  13. Parang National High School
  14. Simsiman High School
  15. Datu Embak Mangansing Memorial HS
  16. Olandang NHS-Damatulan Extension
  17. Rajah Muda National High School
  18. Kapimpilan High School
  19. Datu Daud Rahman High School
  20. Kitulaan High School
  21. MSU-Saguiran LDS
  22. MSU Balindong Community HS
  23. Bubonga Marantao National High School
  24. Datu Calaca Memorial National Comprehensive High School
  25. MSU- Tugaya CHS
  26. Masiu Science And Technology HS
  27. Sitti Amani Mohammad Kiram
  28. Concepcion National High School
  29. Claret School of Lamitan
  30. Mindanao Autonomous College Foundation Inc.
  31. Hardam Furigay College Foundation Inc.
  32. Lamitan National High School
  33. Parangbasak National High School
  34. Ubit National High School
  35. Sulu College of Technology Inc.
  36. Sulu State Senior High School
  37. Southern Mindanao Islamic Institute
  38. Msu-Sulu Senior High School
  39. Capual National High School
  40. Ikih Elementary School
  41. Saldang Elementary School
  42. Tandubanak NHS
  43. MSU Mapom Extension Shs
  44. Mahardika Institute of Technology, Inc.
  45. Tawi-Tawi School of Arts and Trade
  46. Notre Dame of Bongao
  47. Msu-Tcto Science High School
  48. Notre Dame of Bongao
  49. Ibn Taimiyah Foundation Academy

STARBOOKS stands for Science and Technology Academic and Research-based Openly-Operated Kiosk Station. It is the first Philippine Science Library with thousands of digitized science and technology resources in various formats (text and video/audio) placed in a specially designed “pod” set in a user-friendly interface.

STARBOOKS is one of MOST’s strategies in making science and technology information accessible and available to citizens, especially those in the countryside. It can also be accessed through online formats by downloading the STARBOOKS Online Mobile App at the Google Play Store, or you may register at to access thousands of science, technology, and innovations (STI) information for free.

Students and teachers can utilize it even without internet connectivity to access the vast array of science and technology information.


[Information and Communication]